

Press release 28. 10. 2022

## Exiled Russian media-maker will be European Journalist of the Year 2022

The PRIX EUROPA media festival will honour Galina Timchenko, cofounder, CEO and publisher of the independent online medium Meduza, as European Journalist of the Year 2022 at the PRIX EUROPA Awards Ceremony on Friday, 28.10.2022. One of the winners from last year will also be in the spotlight: The Belarusian journalist Darya Chultsova was in captivity until September 2022 and is coming to Potsdam to receive her award belatedly.

Galina Timchenko was editor-in-chief of the influential Russian news portal Lenta.ru for ten years. In the wake of critical reporting on Russia's military intervention in the Crimean Peninsula, she was fired in 2014 under pressure from Putin. She then packed her bags and moved to Riga, Latvia, where she founded her own online medium later that year. Much of the editorial staff of Lenta.ru followed her. Meduza publishes in Russian and English and has since become one of the most important independent Russian-language news sources. The platform was financed through advertising revenues until these dried up when Meduza was labelled a "foreign agent" by the Kremlin. For the time being, it has saved itself through a crowd-funding campaign.

Darya Chultsova met the fate that Galina Timchenko escaped. The Belarusian journalist, then 23, was arrested in 2020 along with her colleague Katsiaryna Andreyeva after streaming a protest against the Belarusian ruler Alexander Lukashenko. Both were sentenced to two years in labour camps. Darya Chultsova was released at the end of her sentence in September 2022, while Katsiaryna Andreyeva was given an additional eight-year prison term. Both women worked for the Polish television station Belsat TV and were awarded the PRIX EUROPA European Journalist of the Year 2021 in absentia for their courageous reporting.

## Previously honoured as PRIX EUROPA European Journalist of the Year:

2021 Katsiaryna Andreyeva, Darya Chultsova (Belarus).

2019 Armin Wolf (Austria)

2018 Laurent Richard (France)

2017 Can Dündar (Turkey and Germany)



The Awards Ceremony will be streamed live on the PRIX EUROPA homepage and will be available afterwards as video-on-demand. It will also be broadcast later on Tagesschau24 (02:05 to 04:05 am).

PRIX EUROPA is supported by a strong alliance of currently 26 members, European public broadcasters and institutions, under the patronage of the European parliament. The festival has taken place in Amsterdam, Strasbourg, Barcelona, Porto, Reykjavik, Marseilles and again and again in Berlin. Since 2019 the Rundfunk Berlin Brandenburg (RBB) has hosted it in Potsdam, together with the State capital Potsdam and the Land Brandenburg.

This year, 187 productions from 28 European countries are nominated. Of the 540 participating media professionals, 228 are jury members. There will be 14 PRIX EUROPA Awards for the Best European TV-, Radio- or Digital Media Programmes of the Year, 1 European Journalist of the Year Award as well as 2 audience awards, the PRIX EUROPA Rising Stars, for which voting can be done from home on the PRIX EUROPA homepage without prior registration.

## PRIX EUROPA 2022 - Press contact

Annika Erichsen PRIX EUROPA Press Office press@prixeuropa.eu +49 30 97993 10913 www.prixeuropa.eu

The festival catalogue is available online: https://www.prixeuropa.eu/festival-catalogue-2022